Event Management Committee (EMC)


The Event Management Committee (EMC), NLSIU, undertakes the organisation and coordination of some of the major events that mark the NLSIU calendar, including the Annual Convocation, Legala and Strawberry Fields, along with intra-college activities such as Teachers Day and University Week.

In the first trimester of the academic year, the EMC acts as an active interface between the faculty and student body during the organisation of the Annual Convocation. Additionally the Committee also organizes the Teacher’s Day event, facilitating interaction between the student body and the faculty. In the second trimester, the EMC organises, along with other ABCs, Legala, NLSIU’s annual Literary and Cultural Fest, and Strawberry Fields, NLSIU’s annual rock show. Legala sees participation from colleges all over the country and is one of the most prominent festivals in the Bangalore college circuit. Legala is known not only for its varied cultural events, but also for its quiz fest Ipso Facto, which has rapidly gained widespread recognition. This fest is run in collaboration with the Cultural and Fine Arts Committee, and the Literary and Debating Society. Strawberry Fields has garnered nationwide acclaim and has been hailed to be one of the foremost rock shows in the country, getting favourable mentions in all leading rock magazines.

The underlying belief of Strawberry Fields is promoting India’s nascent rock genre and providing them with a platform to reach a wide audience. An annual three day affair, Strawberry Fields witnesses participation from over 50 bands from all over the nation. Many of India’s most popular bands such as Thermal and a Quarter, Moksha, Kryptos, Antaragini (now Raghu Dixit Project), Lounge Piranha, Mother Jane, Myndsnare, Junkyard Groove have performed in this rock show and credit this as their big break in the Indian music scene.

The EMC believes in a strong work ethic and an emphasis on efficiency, and each member plays an important role in the functioning of the committee, and running its activities.
For more details on Legala and Strawberry Fields, visit http://www.legala.in .


Srinivasan Gowrishankar (Convenor) 9916783729
Shivam Singh (Joint-Convenor) 9886503275
Anwesha Haldar
Archit Dhir
Avantika Thakur
Bhishaan Shah
Navaneeth Nair
Arvind Srinivas
Shailaditya Gopalkrishna
Aruj Garg
Rishi Shroff
Govind Satish
Raag Yadava
Sushmit Paul
Vijay Paul



E-mail: emc@nls.ac.in





%d bloggers like this: