Moot Court Society (MCS)


The Moot Court Society (MCS) is the student committee entrusted with the responsibility of administering mooting activities and upholding the high standards of excellence that the NLSIU has set itself. Mooting as an activity can perhaps best be described as the closest one comes to being a lawyer while still in law school – it involves identifying legal issues in situations, exhaustive research in that area of law, followed by extensive written submissions and gruelling orals before a bench of eminent judges – in short, everything a lawyer is expected to do.

The MCS’s role is to facilitate and regulate mooting at the NLSIU. Firstly, this involves planning, organising and executing the various moot court competitions that are hosted by the NLSIU – The NLS International Arbitration Moot, which is sponsored by Clifford Chance and attracts participants from all corners of India and beyond, like the University of Warwick, winners of the inaugural edition; the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot India Funding Round, on behalf of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), to select the team to be funded by ISRO for the Manfred Lachs Moot in Australia; and the NLS-NFCG Moot, organized in association with the National Foundation for Corporate Governance (NFCG) to promote better management in company affairs, and open to non -legal institutes such as ICFAI.

MCS’s second major mandate is to constitute the University Moot Team, a process which stretches over 2 months and incorporates 3 rounds of mooting, culminating in a ranking of those selected to represent the NLSIU at various national and international moots. NLSIU teams have frequently performed excellently at the most prestigious international moots such as the Philip C. Jessup Moot, the Willem C. Vis Arbitration Moot, the Willem C. Vis (East) Arbitration Moot, Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot, Stetson International Environmental Law Moot, the LawAsia Moot and the Commonwealth Moot. NLSIU remains the only Indian team to win the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Competition, considered to be the toughest and most prestigious in the world. It is also the only Indian team to win Asia Pacific Regional Rounds of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot Court Competition, which it has done twice, in 2004 and 2009.

The NLSIU maintains an enviable record in national level moot court competitions as well, performing in a stellar fashion at moots such as the Bar Council of India Trust Moot, the D.M. Harish Moot, the Kerala Law Academy Moot, the Luthra & Luthra Moot, the M.M. Singhvi Moot and the Surana and Surana International Technology Law Moot.

The third function that the MCS serves is to develop future mooters, as well as an interest in mooting. In pursuance of this, the MCS follows a policy of encouraging participation in mooting from all batches, including the first years. To allow them to compete on an equal footing, the MCS organises extensive workshops and demonstrations to enable them to learn the process of mooting – from the very basics to the most intricate details. Further, the MCS arranges for interactive sessions with experienced mooters and litigators from previous batches to guide the present mooters better. In addition, the MCS also organises a ‘Novices Moot’ during the year to encourage people to take up mooting, and an Inter-Class moot, which pits senior batches against the junior batches.

The academic year 2008-09 was an excellent one for the NLSIU in terms of mooting. In the Philip C. Jessup Moot, our team broke through to the final rounds in first place, eventually making it to the Quarter-final stage of the competition to follow up last year’s Semi-final finish. For the second year running, NLSIU won the prestigious Bar Council of India Moot, with Surya Kiran Banerjee (Overall and Competition Law) and Adarsh Saxena (Intellectual Property Law) sweeping the best speaker awards between them. The NLSIU team also won the Asia Pacific Regional Round of the Manfred Lachs Space Law Moot, as well as the best speaker award (Abhimanyu George Jain). In the Willem C. Vis (East) Arbitration Moot, our respondent memorial was awarded an ‘honourable mention’. In the Kerala Law Academy moot the NLSIU emerged triumphant, making a clean sweep of the best team, best memorial, and best speaker (won by Krishnaprasad K.V.) awards. In other moots as well, our students performed admirably, finishing among the top few teams in the various competitions.


The Moot Court Society 2007-08 consists of:

1.Adarsh Saxena (Convenor) – 9845191115
2.Surya Kiran Banerjee (Joint Convenor) – 9900107879
3.Bhabna Das (V Year)
4.Yaman Verma (V Year)
5.Abhimanyu George Jain (IV Year)
6.Ankita Godbole (III Year)
7.Krishnaprasad K.V. (III Year)
8.Shwetank Ginodia (II Year)
9.Abhinav Sekhri (I Year Co-Opt)
10.Archana Subramanian (I Year Co-Opt)
11.Molshree Shrivastav (I Year Co-Opt)
12.Prem Ayyathurai (I Year Co-Opt)

Faculty Advisor: Dr. Sairam Bhat




Click to see the selection criteria (Please note that the same is subject to change)






%d bloggers like this: